h1

2013. It’s here.

January 4, 2013

New Year's Eve with Guy Lombardo and the Royal Canadians

How 2013 will be different from 2012:

1. My family will be bigger. My brother and his wife are expecting their first child – my first niece or nephew.

2. I will have a new job.  In fact, I will have two new jobs starting in the next few days. I went from no work to a whole lotta work in a hurry. Neither are reporting jobs, nor are they media jobs. It’s really a new career beginning.

3. I will be staying close to home. The travels of 2012 will (unfortunately) not be repeated. We are getting several visitors from Australia. We’ll trek to Calgary to see the new one. We will also head to Toronto for the wedding of an old friend. It was a year of engagements among my friends (at least according to Facebook), 2013 will be weddings and 2015 will be babies.

4. With less long-distance travel comes more close-to-home exploration.  I intend to spend more time on local mountains this winter, hiking, camping and kayaking in the summer.

5. I will know how to drive standard. This is more of a hope than a reality.  I have taken a few lessons so far but it’s painful.  After 15 years of driving, I’m finding the process utterly frustrating.  I know I’m a good driver but the skills fail to translate – and if you’ve ever honked at a vehicle clearly marked “student driver”… you’re a dick.

6. Steady as she goes for the relationship. We’ve lived together over a year – awesome. We’ve met all the family and friends – smooth.  We’re approaching two years together – still magical.

7. Orgle will be a permanent resident. The paperwork was submitted over 6 months ago. Whenever he checks the wait times, it has gotten longer. It’s now about year. (And he was fast-tracked through the process.)

8. The unexpected. Each year brings challenges not foretold. You have to be excited for them. I know I am.

2 comments

  1. I hope 2013 is as magical as you want it to be. And I don’t mean magical in the airy-fairy sense, but in the “when I look back on my life, 2013 will stand out as one of the best years.” It sounds like you’re well on your way.


    • Thanks Megan. 🙂
      I hope you find what you’re looking for overseas!



Leave a Reply

