h1

Jack Layton, a passionate man

August 22, 2011
Jack Layton

Jack Layton - September 8, 2008

I was on the air when Jack Layton held his final press conference. As Layton walked to the mic, I said to my co-anchor, “he’s dying.” It reminded me of my own grandfather, a strong Albertan from the farm, the last time I saw him. He battled prostate cancer but finally succumbed to bone cancer.

As I watched Layton on screen, I had to turn away but his voice stayed with me. All was not well. I could barely continue reading the newscast afterward.

I believed Layton would be back and fight for Canadians. I wish he was able to do it in person, not in spirit.

My grandfather was lucky. He lived into his 90s. Jack Layton was 61.

“Canada is a great country, one of the hopes of the world. We can be a better one – a country of greater equality, justice, and opportunity.”  ~Jack Layton’s deathbed letter to Canadians

2 comments

  1. […] Jack Layton, a passionate man (mylifeontheelist.wordpress.com) 49.895452 -97.138273 FacebookTwitterStumbleUponDiggRedditLinkedInMorePrintEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in Winnipeg and Hometown Goings On, World Events and tagged AC DC, Canada, JackLayton, Left-wing politics, New Democratic Party, Opposition (parliamentary), Ottawa, Politics, The Jack, Toronto. Bookmark the permalink. ← Dining in the quarter made easy at Le Garage Café […]


  2. Truly the best prime minister we never had! Check out our family’s tribute at:
    http://mamadizastre.wordpress.com/2011/08/25/men-with-moustaches-can-be-trusted/



Leave a Reply

