h1

166: Le Sigh

June 15, 2011
15-6-2011

From Game 3 of the Stanley Cup finals in 2006 (iPhone 4 - June 15, 2011)

Tonight my mother razzed me for not being a Canucks fan. She, like many others out here on the West Coast, doesn’t understand my passion and allegiance to the Oilers.

People say I’m greedy for wanting success for a team that may have been one of the most successful NHL franchises.  But what most people don’t get is that I can barely remember the 1990 Stanley Cup win. In fact, my first NHL game was in 1991 against the San Jose Sharks.  In 1994, I was a Canucks fan but that was short-lived.  My NHL fandom has spanned 20 years. In the past two decades, the Oilers have been awful. Take out 2006 and they made it to the second round once. They have missed the playoffs more than they have made it.

But that’s my team. And they suck.

As the Canucks roll to what could be their first cup win tonight, I hope fans here relish the greatness they get to feel.  I don’t know what that feels like. But I’m sure it is good.  Talk to Oilers and Flames fans – the alternative outcome for a Game 7 is soul crushingly terrible. But enjoy it for what it is, and that’s YOUR success rather than the failure of MY team.

Because if I hear one more snide remark about how bad the Oilers are, I swear to God, I’ll punch someone in the face.

I know they are bad. You don’t have to remind me.

One comment

  1. LOXY. I still have my pom-pom from the games I went to in 06′. We want riot pics. Are you close to the action?



Leave a Reply

