h1

Five things that stuck with me from Northern Voice 2011 – Day 1

May 13, 2011

20110513-044009.jpg

1. I’m not scared of public speaking, even without a script. But I am scared of people.

I was part of a panel on Twitter and News. It was the first session of the day, so I really had no idea what Northern Voice was all about. But when I’m in regular social situations, I am painfully shy. I haven’t really met anyone in this first day, unless they approached me, but we still have day two to go.

2. “Don’t use huge image files online if you don’t have to.” Via @acrazychameleon

It makes sense. I guess I figured this whole time that I wanted people to see my pictures in their huge glory. But it also means people can steal them and and their good quality.

3. “Sometimes it takes a writer 1000 words to get there.” “That’s the power of photography.” Via @uncleweed

I just really liked this.

4. People like @aprilfilms inspire me to share what I know.

I’m not a photographer, I’m barely a journalist, I don’t profess to be a social media expert and my web skills are basic – but what I do know can be shared. Now I just have to make the opportunities, or find ones that already exist, to help.

5. “Liberate your pixels!” Via @leahgregg

What has been stopping me from doing fun, creative stuff with my pictures? I don’t know.

Day two of #NV11 to come….

Leave a comment